Posted on
Photo by Andy Paradise

THE THE announce details of a new multi-format release, due out Friday 1st October 2021. The Comeback Special documents their triumphant Royal Albert Hall concert on 5th June 2018.

THE THE offer a preview of the new release with a single and live video of ‘Sweet Bird Of Truth.

When you combine the right songs with the right musicians and an audience that never forgot, it’s like coming home.”
– Pete Paphides

What started as an unforgettable live experience, and one of the band’s first performances after 16 years, now turns into an extraordinary live album, film & book as Matt Johnson’s London-based Cinéola label teams up with Hamburg-based international rock and pop label, earMUSIC for a series of exciting and exclusive releases.

To complete The Comeback Special experience, THE THE will also be launching a variety of exclusive products, all available in the official album store soon. This includes an exquisitely designed 136-page Art Book, featuring 6 discs, exclusive photos, audio content plus director Tim Pope’s beautifully shot, unobtrusive film of the show.

Sweet Bird Of Truth’ is now also available as a single release on all streaming and download services:

  1. Global Eyes
  2. Sweet Bird Of Truth
  3. Flesh & Bones
  4. Heartland
  5. The Beat(en) Generation
  6. Armageddon Days (are here again)
  7. A Long Hard Lazy Apprenticeship
  8. We Can’t Stop What’s Coming
  9. Phantom Walls
  10. Love Is Stronger Than Death
  11. Dogs Of Lust
  12. Helpline Operator
  13. This Is The Night
  14. This Is The Day
  15. Soul Catcher
  16. Bugle Boy
  17. Beyond Love
  18. Slow Emotion Replay
  19. (Like a) Sun Rising Thru My Garden
  20. Infected
  21. I’ve Been Waiting For Tomorrow (all of my life)
  22. True Happiness (this way lies)
  23. Uncertain Smile
  24. Lonely Planet

The Royal Albert Hall concert was the first of a trio of London shows during The Comeback Special tour—the others taking place at Brixton Academy and The Troxy—all of which sold out within minutes of going on sale.

Performing live for the first time in 16 years with a headline appearance at Denmark’s Heartland Festival a few days before the Royal Albert Hall concert, the rejuvenated THE THE, which featured previous members James Eller on bass, DC Collard on keyboards and Earl Harvin on drums and new member Barrie Cadogan on guitar alongside Matt Johnson, would go on to play sold-out shows and make festival headline appearances across the globe throughout 2018.

Film stills from The Comeback Special